Spotted Towhee

Although this is apparently a common bird in our area, this is the first time I’ve seen one. While I was walking today, I saw this bird run across the walking path quite a distance ahead of me. At first I thought it was a chipmunk because of the way it ran. I was quite a distance away and my 300mm lens didn’t help much. This photo is cropped quite a bit and the quality  of the photo is poor, but I don’t know if I’ll see one again anytime soon because they are quite elusive and hide in the bushes.

Maralee

Birds-9343February 29, 2016

5 thoughts on “Spotted Towhee

  1. They’re not all that elusive . . . The ones that nest behind us are often near the house, even when we’re outside. Although, it’s true that they’ve gotten more comfortable being around us than when they first showed up here a number of years ago (when we moved in, the neighborhood was relatively young with few trees and mature shrubs – we have a lot more birds now).

    https://dispersertracks.com/2015/07/15/birds-be-all-messed-up-update/

  2. Aren’t they beautiful! I don’t see them often either, but they are residents in my range. I’ve only seen and taken really good images once several years ago.
    I have spotted them a couple of times since, but that first sighting was the best.

    So this is a “lifer” for you! How exciting is that!! I’m excited for you. 🙂 I hope you see more of them.

I'd love to hear from you

