Æbleskiver

Æbleskiver (Danish pronunciation [ˈeːb̥ləˌsɡ̊iːwɐ]; are traditional Danish pancakes in a distinctive shape of a sphere. They are sort of cross between a European pancake and a popover.   Æbleskiver are solid like a pancake but light and fluffy like a popover.

I had never heard of an Æbleskiver before but a friend made some and had us over to try them with some lingonberry sauce.  Yummmmmm. A special Æbleskiver pan is used with a special Æbleskiver batter. I just like saying the word Æbleskiver. These are just a few iPhone photos taken of the process.

Maralee

An Æbleskiver pan.
An Æbleskiver pan.
Mixing the batter
Mixing the batter

3.Ebelskiver 4.Ebelskiver 5.Ebelskiver

With lingonberry sauce
With lingonberry sauce
5 thoughts on “Æbleskiver

  1. I learnt to make them when I spent a year in Denmark and owned a pan. Somewhere between moving houses I lost the pan and the recipe. Nowadays I need to find a vegan version (dairy allergy). Thanks for posting, a great trip down memory lane for me. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you

