Early Start to Fire Season

This is from an open field about a mile from my house
This is from an open field about a mile from my house

We all expected that this would be a bad fire season because of the lack of snow and moisture this winter.  But when I came out of a movie yesterday and saw that black plumes of smoke rising to the west, it frightened me.

Taken across the street from my house
Taken across the street from my house

These photos were taken with my iPhone and were taken from near my home.  My home is not in any danger, but we are surrounded by forest and this could easily be us.  There were 170 homes that were evacuated as of last night and many more on alert.

Taken about two blocks from my house.  The yellow isn't flames - its a break in the smoke and the sun coming through.
Taken about two blocks from my house. The yellow isn’t flames – it’s a break in the smoke and the sun coming through.

With no moisture on our radar, this could be a very long summer.

The smoke in the sky does make for some dramatic photos.
The smoke in the sky does make for some dramatic photos.

Maralee

23 thoughts on “Early Start to Fire Season

  1. Maralee, this is truly scary …. so close by !!! Every year you go through this. Please, stay safe and I hope for a good soaking and very wet rain.

      1. Glad that they have it under some control. Every year you have fires like that .. over there. Scary stuff – feel so sorry for the animals and people that loses their homes.

  2. For goods sake we do not have such wildfires here in Germany (it’s mostly too moisturous) – but this is really frightening! The poor people! I really feel with them. I hope it’s obvious, that my like comes for you photographs and not for this dangerous situation…

    1. We go through this every year because we live in an area that doesn’t get much moisture during the summer months. But we didn’t get much snow this winter so it is quite dry. We don’t usually have fires like this until July or August.

  3. Hard to put a ‘like’ to this. Agree with a previous comment that it’s your photos I like, not the fires. I think this is shaping up to be a very, very bad summer.

  4. Interesting, Maralee. We had a similar early start to our season in September, about which I wrote a post. Those fires proved to be the worst we would experience for the season – 200 homes lost in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney. Subsequently, summer 2013/14 was not as bad as forecast. I hope that the same applies there.

      1. I watch in horror every ‘fire season’. In NZ we have been fortunate so far; much more than our Australian cousins. I hope you get enough rain to hold the destructive forces at bay. I’m writing this in my car; the only place I can charge my phone after an all-night storm that has cut power off to thousands in Auckland. And as inconvenient as it is, I am grateful not to be in Christchurch where flooding has become an inevitable consequence of the 2011 earthquake. Stay safe.

I'd love to hear from you

