Day 276 – A Taste of Autumn

We live in an area with a lot of little micro climates.  The leaves can be changing color in one area and a few blocks away they haven’t started changing at all.  Since the leaves on the maple tree at our office are almost through changing colors so I thought I’d go to the park and see how the colors were there.  Nothing has changed at all.  So I wandered around taking photos of the other things.

The ducks and geese were  mooning everyone who passed by.  There must have been something they liked at the bottom of the pond.

The berries on the mountain ash trees are getting red.  Growing up in northern Minnesota, we were always told you could tell how harsh the winter was going to be by the number of red berries on the mountain ash trees.  The more berries, the harsher the winter.  If these berries are any indiction, we’re going to have a mild winter.  There were some berries, but nothing like we used to get in Minnesota.

Most of the flowers have gone to see, but there were a few that were still blooming.

I will check back at the park in a couple of weeks to see what changes there are.  We are expecting a big cold front to come in over the next week so the foliage may be changing quickly.

Maralee

About Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat

Testing content
This entry was posted in 365 project, Bend, Color, Daisy, Drake Park, Ducks, Fall, Flowers, Lightroom, Macro, Mirror Pond, Natural Light, NIK Software, Nikon, Photography, Photoshop, Plants, Reflection, River and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Day 276 – A Taste of Autumn

  1. disperser says:

    Mooning geese . . . I suppose that’s autumn too.

    We don’t get many reds here. But two of my trees did turn coppery this year. Don’t know if the pictures will turn out as impressive as the leaves looked in person, but we’ll see.

    Meanwhile, I do like the first shot an awful lot.

  2. Thanks, Emilio. We don’t get many reds either – we have mostly aspen trees here. A few people have planted maples so we do get a little red.
    Now I have a technical question for you. Are you using Lightroom 4.1? I just updated to 4.1 and now I can’t get my SmugMug icon. There’s a bar there that says download SmugMug and when I click I get the adobe website SmugMug Publish Plugin. When I download, it brings me back to Lightroom import page. Just wondering if you had any problems. You seem to know this technical stuff better than anyone. Thanks.

  3. Lynn Klaber says:

    Stunning photos!!

  4. bulldogsturf says:

    I love the mooning geese… what a great capture…. a mild winter after a hot summer will not bid well for next season…. so I hope the berries are wrong….

  5. Pingback: 4:29 am. And, Inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

  6. zelmare says:

    Beautiful photographs! I absolutely love the colours in that first picture, they are so vivid!!! And the mooning geese are super too! :)

  7. Maralee, I have nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award @ http://davidkanigan.com/2012/10/03/429-am-and-inspired/. You can choose to accept or not…just accept my thanks for your terrific blog and your inspiring posts. Thank you. Dave

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful! You used to live in MN? Where? I live in Minneapolis! Our leaves are fantastic now and just at the peak.

    • I grew up in Grand Marais. We used to have the most fantastic autumn colors. My mom and three sisters still live there. I’m the one who flew the coop. I love going back there though.

      • thirdeyemom says:

        Wow, maybe you told me this and I forgot. I LOVE Grand Marais. It is so beautiful and I love all the hikes. I bet it is fantastic now with the colors. Ours are incredible here. :)

  9. The colors are completely changing where I’m from. Fall is my favorite time to take photos. You captured yours well :)

  10. Beautiful pictures as usual!
    Dorinda

I'd love to hear from you

