Day 191 – Hummingbirds and Butterflies

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00004

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00004

I have a hummingbird feeder right outside my home office window and have been waiting all summer to see a hummingbird.  Well, they all came out of hibernation (or migration) this weekend.  I spotted the first one on Saturday afternoon.  Of course, by the time I got my camera, my tripod and everything else, it was long gone.  I can’t photograph the birds through my window because it is covered with a screen.  So I set  my camera up on the front porch and set it to shoot remotely if the bird came back.  It didn’t.

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00003

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00003

I saw one this morning, but I had to go to work so I didn’t have a chance to get set up.  So when I got home tonight, I set up the camera, pulled up a chair, and waited.  I wasn’t disappointed.  We had several visit the feeder.  I’m going to have to work on photographing the birds.  For these, the birds were in a shadow and I had to use a high ISO to get a shutter speed fast enough so they are a bit grainy.  I’ll try to photograph them when there is more light on them.  But it’s been so hot here, they may not come to the feeder when their nectar is boiling.  We’ll see.

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00002

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00002

The butterfly was just a chance photo.  While I was waiting for the hummingbirds to feed, this butterfly landed on a nearby flower.  It was some distance away and I was using my telephoto lens so it isn’t as sharp and clear as I’d like it to be.  I had to rush to take the photo before it flew away.  Another project for the future.

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00001

Maralee_Park_Day 192_00001

Maralee

About Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat

Testing content
This entry was posted in 365 project, Birds, butterfly, Flora and Fauna, hummingbird, Lightroom, Natural Light, NIK Software, Photography, Summer, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 191 – Hummingbirds and Butterflies

  1. Alex Khoo says:

    Excellent captures!!

  2. bluelyon says:

    Love the last one!

  3. zelmare says:

    How delightful! That first one is so pretty! And of course, I love the butterfly one with the beautiful yellows and purples… :) I’ve been meanin to put up a bird feeder in our garden, and you’ve just inspired me to do that ASAP!!!!!

  4. cocomino says:

    What a beautiful shot.

  5. Amazing photographs, Maralee! So smart to have it all set up and ready. It’s incredibly hard to get a hummingbird that still!

  6. sayvan says:

    These are incredible shots. Wow… I would be so excited to have captured that. Thanks for sharing and again, great work!

  7. So sweet. Beautiful birds and photos, Tuxedo.

I'd love to hear from you

